Finding true N with a faulty compass

2/8/8 

I’m all over the place……scattered…..organized, yet chaotic.

 I’ve done some preliminary research since my last post, which was an addition to a previous post. Nutraceuticals is a very broad topic as I thought it might be. The information I’ve found is so intriguing to me that, although I know I want to focus on this subtopic of the pharmaceutical industry, I am going to have to focus my view even further, I believe I am going to focus in on the soy bean, isoflavones in particular have prompted many debates as of late. 

2/10/8

I’m so lost…..

I know that I would like my project to focus on the pharmaceutical industry, however, I have spent the last couple days perusing so many articles that I feel like I have lost perspective and gotten lost in all of the different coves of this massive lake of knowledge.

I started with the nutraceutical debate; is there enough evidence behind their claims in order to market them as “cure-alls”?, are they just another straw being grasped at by a generation that wants the fountain of youth? Are they this centuries magic potions being sold not by travelling side-shows but by the food brands that we grew up on?

This led me down the path of Avandia’s black-box warning. Avandia is a Type II diabetes medication that might get pulled off the shelf due to the fact that it may cause heart failure in diabetic paitents.

I have found hundreds of articles on both of these topics, however, the info that I found is inundated with so much science that I begin to feel like my topics are too focused and although I have no doubt that I would find them interesting, how would I ever be able to convey this passion to an audience that could really care less about the efficacy and pharmacokinetics of a black-boxed drug, or for that matter the efficacy of a dietary supplement?

Do I need to broaden my search?

….3 hours later…..

I believe I’ve found a compromise. I was so involved with researching the warnings of avandia that I had forgotten what exactly Avandia was being used for in the first place, diabetes, specifically, type II diabetes.

Diabetes is such a broad topic that it is easy to find plenty of information on and yet, by narrowing it down to just type II diabetes, I have found a clear discussion in which I can voice and opinion/argument.

Fact and definition questions…. 

What is type II diabetes? How does it differ from Type I? What population of people are afflicted with this disease? How are they being treated? How much of the population suffers from this affliction? Of the number of total affliction, how many are obese?

…and the rest of it….

How do we take the aforementioned stats and definitions and link them with studies being done into the treatment of type II diabetes in the obese pop.? Of the drugs available for this disease, which ones work the best? the worst? What causes type II to manifest itself in the obese? Is it worth creating new drugs in order to prevent this disease from manifesting, or do we place pre-diabetic patients on a strict regimen of diet and exercise? What about the “thin” patients that suffer from this disease, is it genetic, dietary, or a combination of factors working together in order to cause them to suffer from this disease?

This I think is enough to go on for now. I will continue research with my peer reviewed articles on the subject, hope that they answer some of the questions stated above, and pray that I can make it through this class without an ulcer.

One Response to “Finding true N with a faulty compass”

  1. […] MastrN8’s Weblog had a pretty good blog post. Definitely worth your time. Here is a small excerpt:Avandia is a Type II diabetes medication that might get pulled off the shelf due to the fact that it may cause heart failure in diabetic paitents…. […]

Leave a Reply

