Chem II is the bane of my existence.

Approximately 6 weeks ago I entered this semester with optimism and bright shining hope. Being the relatively clever, and relatively young, man (also relative) that I am, I thought that there would be no reason that I wouldn’t repeat the success I had in chemistry last semester. I, however, was horribly mistaken. I scored a 58% on my last curved test and hold little hope for the one coming up next Tuesday. I admit that I haven’t been studying as hard as I should but still devote on average an hour a day to the subject. I get so frustrated that this one subject does not come as naturally to me as others do. I have always been a student that requires minimal study time as long as I do the homework. Tests have always been a strength for me. And yet just two weeks ago I failed my first test ever. Needless to say, I have stepped it up a little and have really tried to study harder, yet try as I might the subject matter still eludes me. The text make no sense to me at all; the teacher’s explanations, even those given in one-on-one tutor sessions, seem to make sense until I go home; and I have yet to complete a problem without referring to either an example in my notes, or one in the text. Hence the miserable showing on the test. I believe my problem lies with grasping concepts. I understand the algebra behind the calculations, but i fail to understand which equation to use at any given time. I’m doomed. I’ve looked for the free tutors that are constantly advertised around campus yet since I am in Chem II, those that have already taken it have either graduated or moved onto another school. I went to B&N in the hopes of finding a dummy book or a study guide that will put the concepts in plainer terms, but alas, my search was fruitless. It seems that there is a market for such books. Perhaps, if one day I can understand the V’ant Hoff factor, or the calculations behind crystal lattices, I will write such a book. until that day comes, if it ever will, please wish me luck, o’ non-existent reader!

Leave a Reply

