Let’s give it up for month number 5!

Here I sit typing away. It’s just past midnight and I am wondering why I am not sleeping right now. Not much going on lately. That’s the problem. Gotta tell you though, my imaginary friends, May was a freaking awesome month! Filled with finals, celebrations, and baseball! Not to mention new and old friends and concerts. God damn it was great times!

May began with finals, as you can read for yourself in the previous post. I did pretty well, I must say, on three of my four finals. Leading into my last final, my math final, I had three A’s. I didn’t know what I needed on the final to ensure an A, but my teacher made it very clear that I had the highest grade in the class. This meant two things: I would be setting the curve for the rest of the class, and as long as I didn’t completely bomb the test, I would be fine. Well, guess what happened boys and girls? That’s right, I choked! Still, it took two weeks of torture until my A was posted. Another 4-0 semester baby! Woo!

The day after finals my father-in-law took his mother and I to a professional baseball game. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. My team lost but I managed to nab a foul ball! It was sweet! The thing is this though, I pushed a little old lady out of the way in order to get it… let me explain. So my grandmother-in-law is not at the peak of freshness, so to speak. This is a double-edged sword though because her condition allowed us better seats… Holy crap now I’m exploiting little old ladies, see you in hell!
Anyhow, here we are in these awesome seats behind home plate but up high enough to be in the shade. Grandma has the aisle seat, her oxygen has seat two, and yours truly is sitting in seat tres. All of the sudden, in the fifth inning, a foul ball is hit toward us and lands a section over. Nobody was paying attention however and the ball rolled straight towards us… one row down. That’s when I employ  the mad ninja skills, GENTLY place my hand on grandma’s shoulder to lean over the seat in front over her and grab the ball as it rolled by. AWESOME! So what if I sound like an asshole, she wasn’t going to dive for it.

Anyway, that day was about a week after my birthday. My birthday was uneventful because I was in the midst of finals week. No big deal. That’s what I thought! On May 16th, my incredible wife threw me an incredible surprise party! I had friends there from four cities and three states! It was much more than I deserved and will go down as one of my favorite memories of all time. There were about forty of my closest friends and family there, I didn’t realize I knew that many people, let alone knew that that many people cared for me. I am truly lucky. Thanks, everybody!

I also caught up with a few friends that I hadn’t seen for a long time in May. Right before my B-day, a buddy was in town from Portland. I love this guy. We met a few years back when we worked together. We eventually went our separate ways but have kept in touch. I hadn’t seen him in three years but we picked up our conversation right where it left off. We had lunch and parted again but I know we will always be pretty close.

About a week ago I had a friend in town from New York. Incidentally, he was moving to the same Portland that the above friend lives in; unfortunately, they do not know each other. They would become fast friends. Anyhow, I met this guy on the job as well. He is probably as big, if not a bigger movie buff than I am. I feel that I will always have seen more movies though because I don’t let politics ruin my movie experience. If my buddy doesn’t agree with a certain comment a star makes or a stance they take on an issue, he won’t see any movie that they star in, regardless of how bad he wants to see the movie. I applaud him for his conviction but feel that I would miss a lot of cool things personally if I felt the same way. It is always great to see him though. He had never been here so I got to be a tour guide all day for he and his lovely wife.

Finally, another friend of mine and I went to an awesome concert at the end of May. One of our favorite bands, The Street Dogs played; The Offspring headlined. The concert was freaking incredible! We go to this concert every year and this year was probably the best! I felt that the two aforementioned bands did not play near enough songs but there were also three other bands, oh well. We also met some great concert buddies! You know those people you sit next to at a concert and end up never talking to again? I’m hoping that isn’t the case this time. We had a great time and were able to find a lot in common. I’m hoping a good friendship can blossom.

Anyhow, what a month! One of the best thus far. I began my summer class last week and let’s just say that as of right now, it looks like a really, really, really long summer. I pray that June will turn out better than May, I don’t see how that’s possible though.

Leave a Reply

